2022-2023 Officers and Directors

Front row (left to right): Steve Thelen, Vickie Micheau, LC Scramlin, Gary Bulemore, Trish Steele
Back row (left to right): John Currie, Larry Bush,  Brian Kuemin, John Degenaer, Lenore Senter, Doug Burtch, John Schut

Photo courtesy of Dale Radak

President and Zone 2 Director – LC Scramlin (Oakland County Fair) 248.634.8830

Vice President and Director at Large – Gary Bulemore (Shiawassee County Fair) 989.666.1764

Treasurer and Director at Large – Vickie Micheau (Upper Peninsula State Fair) 906.786.4011

Secretary and Director at Large– Steve Thelen (Saline Community Fair) 734.944.6262

Past President and Zone 4 Director – Trish Steele (Midland County Fair) 989.835.7901

 Zone 1 Director – Brian Kuemin (Cass County Fair) 269-845-6007

Zone 3 Director– John Currie (Mecosta County Fair) 231.629.7273

Zone 5 Director– Lenore Senter (Emmet Charlevoix County Fair) 231-582-9079

Zone 6 Director– John Degenaer (Chippewa County Fair )920.360.3184

Associate Representative – Doug Burtch (TJ Schmidt Amusement) 989-213-5835

Festival-Events Representative – Larry Bush (Grand Blanc Family Fun Fest) 810.348.7901

Executive Director – John Schut (MAFE) 517.317.4544

MAFE By-laws Revised January 2021

Membership consists of 3 categories:

1. Regular Members – Any corporation or organization or fair, agency or other person actually and directly engaged in promoting and conducting fairs, agricultural exhibitions or shows, and described in “Act 80” of the Public Acts of 1855, as amended, “Act 11” of the Public Acts of 1929, or comparable legislation. Each regular member shall be assigned to one of the following six zones, such assignment to be made based on the location of the principal activities of such regular member:

Zone One – Brian Kuemin – Allegan, Barry, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Eaton, Hillsdale, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph, and Van Buren counties.

Zone Two – LC Scramlin CFE – Genesee, Ingham, Jackson, Lapeer, Lenawee, Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair, Washtenaw and Wayne counties.

Zone Three – John Currie – Ionia, Kent, Lake, Mason, Mecosta, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola and Ottawa counties.

Zone Four -Trish Steele – Arenac, Bay, Clare, Clinton, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Isabella, Midland, Saginaw, Sanilac, Shiawassee and Tuscola counties.

Zone Five – Lenore Senter – Alcona, Alpena, Antrim, Benzie, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Crawford, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Iosco, Kalkaska, Leelanau, Manistee, Missaukee, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, Roscommon and Wexford counties.

Zone Six – Lynn MacArthur – All Upper Peninsula counties – Alger, Baraga, Chippewa, Delta, Dickinson, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Keweenaw, Luce, Mackinac, Marquette, Menominee, Ontonagon, and Schoolcraft counties.

2. Associate Members – Any corporation or organization or firm, agency or other person directly engaged in performing a service for a regular or Festival member. 3. Festival Members – Any corporation or organization or municipality directly engaged in promoting and conducting a Festival.

2022 MAFE Committees:

We are always looking for volunteers to become involved with the Michigan Association of Fairs & Exhibitions. There are committees related matters of the Association and committees involving the Convention. The following are several committees that you may consider volunteering:

Executive Committee: Trish Steele, Chair: 989.615.3933 Vickie Micheau, Steve Thelen, Gary Bulemore, Brian Kuemin
Audit: Brian Kuemin, Chair: 269.845.6007 Larry Bush, Karen Klug CFE, Trish Steele
Animal Health and Welfare: LC Scramlin CFE, Chair: 248.634.8830 Larry Bush, Rick Ruemenapp, Trish Steele Steve Thelen
By-Laws – Policy Committee: Trish Steele, Chair: 989.615.3933 Larry Bush, Brian Kuemin, LC Scramlin CFE
Carnival Committee: Doug Burtch, Chair: 989-213-5835 Debbie Elliott, Blake Huston, Brian Kuemin, Niki Skerbeck, Dustin Skerbeck, Brian Kuemin
E-Newsletter Committee: Carol Saari, Chair: 906.482.6200 Doug Burtch, Lynn MaArthur, Lisa Reiff, Lenore Senter 
Finance and  Budget: Vickie Micheau, Chair: 906.786.4011 Brian Kuemin, Steve Thelen, Trish Steele
Harness Racing: John Currie, Chair: 231.629.7273 Harry Chestnut, Brian Kuemin, Tim Roach
Homemaker of the Year Committee: Lynn MaArthur CFE, Chair: 906.630.6536 Nancy Davis, Lisa Reiff
Insurance Committee: Brian Kuemin, Chair: 269.845.6007 Lisa Reiff
Legislative Committee: John Currie, Chair: 231.629.7273 Doug Burtch, Brian Kuemin, Vickie Micheau, Trish Steele, Steve Thelen, Mandy Tomich
MAFE Awards: Steve Thelen, Chair: 734.944.6262 Ric Crawford, John Currie, Cinda Karlik, Brian Kuemin, LC Scramlin, Trish Steele
MSU Extension/4-H Relationship: LC Scramlin CFE, Chair: 248.634.8830 Jake DeDecker, Lori Hull, Lynn MacArthur, Lenore Senter, Steve Thelen, Janelle Stewart
Membership Directory Committee: Lisa Reiff, Chair: 517.317.4544 Brian Kuemin
Nominating Committee: John Currie, Chair: 231.629.7273 Harry Chestnut, Jessica Marks, Darryl Diamond
Scholarship Committee: Brian Kuemin, Chair: 269.845.6007 Lynn MaArthur, Lisa Reiff, Nancy Thelen
Social Media: Lenore Senter; Chair: 231.582.9079 Brian Kuemin, Lisa Reiff, Sara Ressler

2023 – 138th Convention Committees:

Banquet & Reception Committee: Lisa Reiff, Chair: 517.317.4544 Larry Bush, Vickie Micheau, Steve Thelen, LC Scramlin CFE, Trish Steele
Brochure-Convention Committee: Lisa Reiff, Chair: 517.317.4544
Communication Awards Committee: Carol Britton, Chair: 734.428.8474 Kathy Richardson, Cindy Radak, Dale Radak, Nancy Thelen General Session – Convention: Trish Steele, Chair: 989.615.3933, Brian Kuemin, Doug Burtch, Lynn MacArthur, Lisa Reiff, LC Scramlin CFE
Mega Raffle & Friday night 50/50: Karen Klug CFE 269.208.6342 Sherry Bechler, Gary Bulemore, Larry Bush, Brian Kuemin, LC Scramlin CFE
Raffle 50/50 Committee: Gary Bulemore, Chair: 989.666.1764 Gary Bulemore, Lynn MaArthur, Trish Steele, Mike Zimmerman, SaraJane Zimmerman, Roxanne Wheeler
Resolutions: Gary Bulemore, Chair: 989.666.1764 Trish Steele, Brian Kuemin, Lenore Senter, LC Scramlin
Showcase Committee: Larry Bush, Chair: 810.348.7901 Brian Kuemin, Denise Owens, Lenore Senter
Silent Auction Committee: Melva Thayer, Chair Gary Bulemore, Jim Thayer, Mary Fox, Veronica Wallace
Sponsorship Committee: Brian Kuemin, Chair: 269.845.6007 Larry Bush, Brian Kuemin, Vickie Micheau, Lisa Reiff
Spouse Activities Committee: Lori Meaney, Chair, Kristin Dekkin, Sara Redder
Suite and Hospitality Guidelines: Ric Crawford, Chair: 810.499.2051 Doug Burtch, Larry Bush, Brian Kuemin, Steve Thelen, LC Scramlin CFE, Trish Steele
Trade Show Committee: Doug Burtch, Chair: 989-213-5835 Gary Bulemore, Brian Kuemin, Terry Slaggert
Workshops- Roundtables Committee: Cinda Karlik, Chair: 517.284.5723 Brn Glynn, Amy Kerbyon, Vickie Micheau, Lynn MaArthur, Christian Miller CFE, Lisa Reiff, Connie WElls
Workshop-Roundtable Sub-committee – Youth Education: Lenore Senter, Chair: 231.582.9079 Brian Kuemin, Leah LaVanway, Lisa Reiff, Janelle Stewart, Nancy Thelen, Carly Vertz
Young Professionals (yMAFE): Carly Vertz, Chair Dan Bonnell, Darryl Diamond, Lindsey McKeever, Lisa Reiff, Michael Smith