Every fair has those volunteers that for many years have been a huge part of the success of their fair.  The MAFE board awards the Heritage Award to honor our state’s outstanding long term volunteers. Fairs couldn’t last without volunteers and the special people that do it year after year need a special award to say thank you.

In order to be eligible to receive this award, recipients must have a minimum of 10 years of event service to the Fair or Exhibition as a volunteer or management and receives less than $1,000 annually in compensation from the Fair or Exhibition.

Congratulations to our award winners and thank you to our award sponsor the Fifth Third Bank Michigan State Fair.

Group Heritage

Left to right: Cinda Karlik, MDARD; L.C. Scramlin CFE; sponsor Steve Masters, Fifth Third Bank Michigan State Fair; Beverly Hinkley, Emmet-Charleviox County Fair; Earl Heller, Chelsea Community Fair; Donna Woltysiak, St. Clair County 4-H & Youth Fair; Marcia Raffler Lake Odessa Fair; Claudia Crim (not photoed) accepted on behalf of the Chippewa County; and Ric Crawford, MAFE past president. Photo courtesy of Bruce Doll